2023 Top 100 Ghana’s Women Board Directors announced by Avance Media

Africa’s foremost PR and ratings firm, Avance Media, has announced the inaugural Top 100 Ghana’s Women Board Directors list for 2023.

This groundbreaking initiative aims to highlight the exceptional contributions of women who have demonstrated exemplary leadership, innovation, and impact within their respective industries.

The selection process for the Top 100 Ghana’s Women Board Directors was rigorous, considering a comprehensive range of criteria such as experience, education, board tenure, industry expertise, leadership capabilities, notable impact, awards and recognition, as well as public presence.

The research revealed that women hold 28% of board positions in Ghana, compared to the global average of 20% as indicated by The Harvard Law School Forum on Corporate Governance. The report further showed that within the 52 Ghanaian companies listed, only 10 have women serving as their board chairs. Notably, 42% of the women on the list hold positions on bank boards.

A highlight of the event was the announcement of the maiden Ghana Board Diversity Awards. Media General was recognized as the Best Gender-Inclusive Board (private), while Exim Bank Ghana and the Ghana Revenue Authority clinched the title of Best Gender-Inclusive Board (public). These awards underscore the efforts of Ghanaian companies in championing gender diversity within their leadership structures.

The unveiling, which took place at the SB Incubator in Accra on August 14th, 2023 in Accra also featured an engaging panel discussion hosted by Prince Akpah on the pivotal role of women in board leadership. Esteemed panellists included Board Chair of Old Mutual Ghana, Hellen Amarquaye; President / Council Chair of the Institute of Directors-Ghan, Rev. (Mrs.) Angela Carmen Appiah (FIoD); and CEO of Acreaty Ghana, Elsie Appau-Klu. Their insights illuminated the significance of women’s contributions to effective corporate governance.

On the sidelines of the event, Prince Akpah, Founder of Avance Media, remarked, “The Top 100 Ghana’s Women Board Directors list is a testament to the remarkable achievements of women leaders who continue to pave the way for others. Their dedication, expertise, and impact are instrumental in shaping the future of corporate leadership in Ghana. We believe that celebrating their accomplishments will inspire more gender-inclusive boardrooms and contribute to a diverse and prosperous business landscape.”

The initiative is a creation of PR and rating firm, Avance Media with partnerships from Acreaty Ghana, Institute of Directors-Ghana (IoD-Gh), Business and Financial Times (BFT), EdwardsAsare.com, and Words Magazine.

Profiles of the women are published on www.avancemedia.org/gwbd

Below is the full list of Avance Media’s Top 100 Ghana’s Women Board Directors for 2023

  1. Abena Amoah || Central Securities Depository
    1. Abena Osei-Poku || Ghana Stock Exchange (c)
    1. Abiola Bawuah || UBA Ghana
    1. Adelaide Ahwireng || Ghana Revenue Authority
    1. Adwoa Nyantakyiwa Annan || Fidelity Bank Ghana
    1. Afua Adubea Koranteng || OmniBSIC Bank Limited
    1. Afua Asabea Asare (Dr.) || Exim Bank Ghana
    1. Afua Djimi || Consolidated Bank Ghana Ltd.
    1. Akua Kuenyehia (Prof) || SC Bank Ghana
    1. Akyaa Afreh Arhin Addo-Kufuor || OmniBSIC Bank Limited
    1. Ama Boafo-Arthur (Dr.) || Graphic Communications Group
    1. Ama Gyamfuah Abrefa || Ghana National Petroleum Corporation
    1. Ama Sarpong Bawuah || Access Bank Ghana (c)
    1. Ama Serwah Nerquaye Tetteh || Ghana Broadcasting Corporation
    1. Angela Forson || GOIL Ghana
    1. Angela Kyerematen-Jimoh || Bank of Ghana
    1. Angela Lamensdorf Ofori-Atta (Prof) || EnteRprise Group
    1. Angela Peasah || Unilever Ghana PLC
    1. Augustina Amakye (Dr.) || First Atlantic Bank
    1. Beatrice Bridget Ofei || First National Bank Ghana
    1. Benonita Bismarck || GCNET
    1. Carlien Dorcas Bou-Chedid (Ing.) || Electricity Company of Ghana
    1. Catherine Quaidoo || Exim Bank Ghana
    1. Christina Sutherland || SIC Insurance Company PLC
    1. Comfort Ocran || Bank of Ghana
    1. Cynthia Forson (Dr.) || Cal Bank
    1. Dela Obeng-Sakyi || Ghana Revenue Authority
    1. Edith Dankwa (Dr.) || Unilever Ghana PLC
    1. Edith Uyovbukerhi || Old Mutual Ghana
    1. Efua Ghartey || Ghana Broadcasting Corporation
    1. Efua Preba Arkaah Greenstreet || Prudential Insurance
    1. Elaine Sam || Media General
    1. Elizabeth Akua Ohene || SSNIT (c)
    1. Elsie Addo Awadzi || Bank of Ghana
    1. Esi Tawia Addo-Ashong || Stanbic Bank Ghana (c)
    1. Estelle Akofio-Sowah || Stanbic Bank Ghana
    1. Ethel Cofie || Old Mutual Ghana
    1. Eva Mends || Ghana Revenue Authority
    1. Evelyn Duku || UMB Bank
    1. Florence Larbi || Jospong Group
    1. Frances Adu-Mante || Absa Bank Ghana (c)
    1. Freda Yahan Duplan || Zenith Bank (c)
    1. Gloria Adjoa Owusu || Consolidated Bank Ghana Ltd.
    1. Gloria Irene Amaki Payida || SSNIT
    1. Grace Amey-Obeng || Media General
    1. Hannah Brenda Amoateng || FBNBank Ghana
    1. Helen Amarquaye || Old Mutual Ghana (c)
    1. Helen Nankani || Cal Bank
    1. Irene Baaba Hagan || GT Bank Ghana
    1. Ivy Betur Naaso || SSNIT
    1. Ivy Ruby Austin || Graphic Communications Group
    1. Janet Akosua Gyasiwaa || Volta River Authority
    1. Joyce Agyeman Attafuah || BOST
    1. Joyce Rosalind Aryee (Dr.) || Volta River Authority
    1. Juliana Addo-Yobo || Prudential Bank Limited
    1. Juliana Asante || Societe Generale Ghana
    1. Juliette Modupe Tuakli (Dr.) || Zenith Bank
    1. Karen Akiwumi-Tanoh || Prudential Insurance
    1. Laurette Korkor Otchere || Societe Generale Ghana
    1. Lisa Afua Serwah Mensah || Fidelity Bank Ghana
    1. Lydia Essah || GCB Bank
    1. Lynn Allotey Gadzekpo || National Investment Bank Limited
    1. Maata Opare || Electricity Company of Ghana
    1. Mabel A. Amoatemaa Sarpong || GOIL Ghana
    1. Magdalene Harley || Donewell Insurance
    1. Maidie Elizabeth Arkutu || GT Bank Ghana
    1. Mansa Nettey || Zen Petroleum
    1. Margaret Boateng Sekyere || Societe Generale Ghana (c)
    1. Margaret Ekua Prah || Ghana Investment Promotion Council
    1. Marian Barnor || Multimedia Ghana
    1. Mary Boakye || Development Bank Ghana
    1. Maureen Abla Amematekpor || Consolidated Bank Ghana Ltd.
    1. Muriel Susan Edusei || Prudential Bank Limited (c)
    1. Naana Nsafoah Sarpong || Electricity Company of Ghana
    1. Nana Adwoa Dokua || COCOBOD
    1. Nana Ama Ayensua Saara III || GCB Bank
    1. Nana Ama Botchway   || MTN Ghana
    1. Nana Ama Tima Boakye || Bui Power Authority
    1. Nana Yaa Owusu-Ansah || Unilever Ghana PLC
    1. Nora Bannerman Abbott || Ghana Investment Promotion Council
    1. Olivia Frimpong Kwapong (Prof) || Graphic Communications Group (c)
    1. Pamela Djamson-Tettey || SIC Insurance Company PLC
    1. Patience Akyianu || Ecobank Ghana
    1. Patience Asante || First Atlantic Bank
    1. Pearl Nkrumah || Access Bank Ghana
    1. Rebecca Acquaah-Arhin (Dr.) || Bui Power Authority
    1. Rebecca Lomo Atswei || Starlife Assurance
    1. Regina Ohene-Darko Adutwum (Dr.) || Bank of Ghana
    1. Rosalind Nana Emela Kainyah || Cal Bank
    1. Rosemary Beryl Archer || Ghana Free Zones Authority
    1. Rosemary Yeboah || Ecobank Ghana
    1. Rosie Ebe Arthur || MTN Ghana
    1. Rosy Fynn || First National Bank Ghana
    1. Sarah-Mary Frimpong || Stanbic Bank Ghana
    1. Susana Alo (Dr.) || Ghana Free Zones Authority
    1. Teresa Effie Cooke || OmniBSIC Bank Limited
    1. Thelma Efua Quaye || First Atlantic Bank
    1. Theresa Afua Ayoade || Ghana Infrastructure Investment Fund
    1. Victoria Barth || Prudential Bank Limited
    1. Yvette Adounvo Atekpe || Access Bank Ghana